Wlliam Gilmore Simms
The Simms Review (Vol 1: No 2) >> Simms Society News >> Page 47

image of pageExplore Inside

Page 47

Scholarship | 1993
Transcription 47


The President of The Simms Society has appointed a selection committee
for the Mellen Book Prize under the following guidelines: (1) the chairman of the committee will be the editor of The Simms Review, who will be responsible for
advertising the prize, receiving and distributing manuscripts; (2) one member willbe appointed from the Executive Council; (3) the third member, preferably of a
discipline other than English, will be appointed from the membership-at-large.
For the 1994 competition, the deadline of the submission of book
manuscripts will be 1 September 1994. The committee will recommend the
winner to the President of the Society by 1 November 1994; the President will
inform the winner and Mellen Press; and the winner will submit camera-ready
copy to the Mellen Press by Thanksgiving 1994. Upon receipt of the manuscript,
the Mellen Press will issue the $300 prize to the winner.
Send manuscripts to the Chairman of the Awards Committee, Professor
James Kibler, English Department, Park Hall, University of Georgia, Athens, GA
30602. Board members of the Awards Committee are Dr. David Moltke-Hansen,
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, and Professor Thomas McHaney,
Georgia State University.